Socks are Important.

Bullet points.

Here we go.

* I’m awake. Again. Tonight I actually planned to be awake. Why? Glad you asked.

* We have been so bored, and so broke for so very long (longest dry spell yet. Started in January) that I started grasping at straws a few months ago and threw Etsy on the table as a “why the hell not” option.

* I don’t care about being broke. Honest. I was born broke and it only bothers me now if it bothers my kids or the Hub. He…well he friggin hates it. So depressed. This pisses me off (by that I mean I am offended that anything should dare to hurt him) and so again…the etsy idea.

* Hub is a pro. Sure…I stand by him with a pit-bull-like tenacity but facts are facts. There’s a reason he hasn’t had work lately. Trust me…I fight myself daily not to spill it all here.

* I’m awake because I actually wanted my shop. I love making stuff. Simple as. I’d give it all away (I actually do give more than sell) if I had all the cash for all the supplies. So what started as me giving myself a crash course or three on promo, SEO, and the interwebs for his shop has become me pretty much runnin the whole show. It’s cool though. I kinda like it.

* I do not like my own human limitations. I am in fact in an all caps rage about it.

* Because frankly if my shop is working, my house is a damn wreck.

* I still believe very strongly in the importance of small business. I believe even more in treating people like humans. Before there was ever an etsy there was Hub. On his own. Figuring things out for himself. And killin it.

* He is not a fan of not having any clean socks. He’s becoming more vocal about it every day.

So…

I’m up filling orders, responding to messages, and pulling through for all the things I’ve already committed to because while I agree that socks are important, I made some promises and I’ll not be a flake about them. The list of commitments is on the longish side. Small business is not adorable, rainbow that it is, but it’s important.

Maybe even as important as socks.

So I’m working through the night so that socks can once again make the top of the list.

I don’t even wear socks in the summer that shit is weird. But I do love that Hub.

23 thoughts on “Socks are Important.

  1. I know the struggle all to well. I wish you the best with it and I hope you find the promotion info you are looking for. I don’t have much experience with etsy, but I do have articles on how to self-promote should you be interested. Again, just wanted to say I wish you the best and I “felt” the post. -OM

  2. Reblogged this on HarsH ReaLiTy and commented:
    I know the struggle all to well. I wish you the best with it and I hope you find the promotion info you are looking for. I don’t have much experience with etsy, but I do have articles on how to self-promote should you be interested. Again, just wanted to say I wish you the best and I “felt” the post. -OM
    Note: Comments disabled here, please comment on their post.

  3. If my Raymond carried on like that, I’d tell him to wash his own ruddy socks. It would probably make no difference and I would end up doing them anyway, but at least I would have had the pleasure of seeing his face when I told him.

  4. Love your fabric bracelets 🙂 also been poor far too long now and tried the folksy route, but ran out of cash:/ currently back on the drawing board, good luck with it all, your site looks good 🙂
    I do wear socks in the summer,thick winter ones too! 😀

Thoughts...?

