Stockholm 

Information. 

An interesting bit of history. 

That’s all this is. Nothing more. 

I’m just not ready for more. Not yet. 

And anyway, it really is pretty interesting. 

Stockholm Syndrome: 

Stockholm syndrome, or capture-bonding, is a psychological phenomenon in which hostages express empathy and sympathy and have positive feelings toward their captors, sometimes to the point of defending and identifying with the captors. These feelings are generally considered irrational in light of the danger or risk endured by the victims, who essentially mistake a lack of abuse from their captors for an act of kindness.[1][2] The FBI‘s Hostage Barricade Database System shows that roughly 8 percent of victims show evidence of Stockholm syndrome.[3]
Stockholm syndrome can be seen as a form of traumatic bonding, which does not necessarily require a hostage scenario, but which describes “strong emotional ties that develop between two persons where one person intermittently harasses, beats, threatens, abuses, or intimidates the other.”[4] One commonly used hypothesis to explain the effect of Stockholm syndrome is based on Freudian theory. It suggests that the bonding is the individual’s response to trauma in becoming a victim. Identifying with the aggressor is one way that the ego defends itself. When a victim believes the same values as the aggressor, they cease to be perceived as a threat.[5]

Thanks again, Wikipedia. Makes sense to me! 

Blink 182 (remember them?!) had an obscure  song on an obscure album called Stockholm Syndrome. This was years ago…apparently Google wasn’t enough of a thing yet because I know I never looked into it despite my curiosity. Im not sure anymore if this was the song with the War Letters, but either way, I’d always thought the term came from WWII.  Nope!

You probably already know the story but since public school has obviously failed me and I need the distraction anyway…here’s the cliff notes. 

The term started life as Norrmalmstorgssyndromet…so clearly they had to change that. Kinda crazy though that the first part almost spells “normal” but I digress. Norrmalmstorg, Stockholm is the setting of the bank robbery that started it all. And it happened in 1973 so get WWII out of your head. We’ll try to forgive my teenage self for assuming they were connected just because I thought Stockholm “sounded German”…

Yeah. So! A bunch of the banks employees were held hostage for six days and Stockholm syndrome is what they decided to call their consequent reaction. I’m guessing that’s because this sort of thing hadn’t been seen before, but I honestly didnt dig up anything prior to this event so who knows. (If you know something cool though help yourself to the comment box as always). 

The wiki page appears to have a bunch of fascinating psychology stuff on the subject but I’m more interested in what the hell went on in that bank for those six days. Luckily, there’s a link for that too. God bless the internets!

Now, I will say that there’s a bunch of those “citation needed” things on this page so take that as you will. The description of the robbery itself is pretty brief and, honestly, kinda typical. The strangest thing to me so far is the reaction from the Swedish government. Crazy bank robber guy does his thing: grabs a bank and starts demanding stuff, including a fellow convict buddy to keep him company and they gave it to him!  But like I said citation needed. It’s not like I have a better suggestion anyway. 

The article mentions an officer as one of the hostages and I’m super curious about him but other than being forced to sing, they don’t say much. Seems were forced to assume that at the end of the day, everybody had sympathy for the devil. 

Was this not a big deal? Nobody died and I guess there was a lot going on in the 70’s so maybe not. Maybe I’d have to read the science-y part to really get it. 

Might have to anyway. It’s going on 2am and I don’t feel any better. 

I made the mistake of clicking on Codependency already, mostly because the other related articles had such racist sounding names that scared me off (Self Hating Jew? Really??). This is why I don’t read stuff…especially psychology stuff. I kinda think everybody has everything and this is our way of trying to explain it. I’m pretty comfortable with the fact that human don’t make sense. 

True stuff is true, right? 

Right. Had to look up Stockholm syndrome, though. It popped into my head as I was desperately trying to understand and I had a feeling it was right. I had no idea what it was, but somehow I knew. 

I tried to find another example, but wiki seems to have run dry on the subject. That’s ok…I’ll never get any sleep til I do the next step, anyway. 

I hate the next step. 

One more thing, just in case you maybe get where those hostages were coming from…

This caught my eye as I scanned the codependency article (I still say read at your own risk) – 

Some scholars and treatment providers feel that codependency is an overresponsibility and that overresponsibility needs to be understood as a positive impulse gone awry. Responsibility for relationships with others needs to coexist with responsibility to self.

Anyway…that seems like good advice. Plus, it’s nice to know that no matter what, I’ve at least been genuine. 

Even to a fault. 


Thoughts...?

